Inserting the availability form in frontpage of website

Discuss here how to configure hoteldruid and better use its features.

Moderator: marco

Post Reply
jrduprat
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 5:02 am

Inserting the availability form in frontpage of website

Post by jrduprat »

Hi Everybody,

Thank you for this great script. I have an issue that I would like to resolve. I inserted in the frontpage of my website the availability form.

The name of the front page located in the main directory is index.php.
The code used to make the form visible that I used is the following :

Code: Select all

<?PHP
             include("php-residence/dati/availability_template.php");
        ?>
When I launch the index.php file, the form appears correctly.


Now what I want to do is the following :

When the customer finish to fill in the form on the index.php page, I would like that the next step for filling the form (name, gender, nation, etc...) appears on a new page that I would name reservation.php, and so for all the following form steps.

Actually, after filling in the info in the first step, the next step appears on the same index.php file. And it don't fit the design of the front page.

Could you please help to redirect the customer to the reservation.php after the completion of the first step of the form in the index.php form.

Thanks in advance for your help.

JRDUPRAT
jrduprat
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 5:02 am

Post by jrduprat »

Is my issue unsolvable? Anybody can't help?

Please help me!
Please help me!
Please help me!
marco
Posts: 1332
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 6:00 pm
Location: Roma, Italia

Post by marco »

Why not pasting the form in static html (just change the action to point to the template) instead of using a php include?

Marco
Problems installing, configuring, upgrading?
Try the easiest way to use HotelDruid:
https://www.digitaldruid.net/hosted/index.php
Scott M. Sanders
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2008 6:53 pm
Location: Bucyrus, Ohio, USA

Post by Scott M. Sanders »

What I did to keep it on the front of my site, which is not really what the first guy wanted and not entirely original but works great for us, was just put it in an iframe, and a full-width one at that so the farthest-right pop-up calendar would least-likely cause horizontal scroll-bars to appear.

This is great software, by the way. :)
kyomar
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 5:04 am

Re: Inserting the availability form in frontpage of website

Post by kyomar »

I am trying to do exactly the same as described by jrduprat. I would like to have the "check availability" form (dates, person etc.) static and the "send the request for reservation" seperately. Perhaps this example demonstrates what I am trying to do: http://www.globekey.com/demohotel/

I just don't know which part of which file (availability_tpl.php?) I have to copy as Marco suggested. And where do I have to change the action and what action.

This software is great, its just my limited knowledge of php which causes problems.

Any help is very appreciated. Thank you in advance,
Markus
viknet
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 3:08 pm

Re: Inserting the availability form in frontpage of website

Post by viknet »

use a frame or an iframe, it's so easy.....
and it enable you to have the website of your hotel on a different machine than php residence:php residence is on a computer in the hotel, the website is hosted by a web provider...
kyomar
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 5:04 am

Re: Inserting the availability form in frontpage of website

Post by kyomar »

Hi viknet,

thanks a lot for your suggestions. I am using iframe, that's indeed very easy. Perhaps I didn't explain my "wish" clearly enough (English is not my mother language :roll). I would like to do what jrduprat asked in the first place
When the customer finish to fill in the form on the index.php page, I would like that the next step for filling the form (name, gender, nation, etc...) appears on a new page that I would name reservation.php, and so for all the following form steps.
and marco suggested here (same post) but I don't understand which part I have to copy from which file and which action has to be changed.
Why not pasting the form in static html (just change the action to point to the template) instead of using a php include?
Marco
Please check this link as a live example what I am trying to do: http://www.globekey.com/demohotel/

Thanks again,
Markus

PS. If you don't mind, could you please explain how you connect php-residence sitting on your local computer at the hotel with your website hosted by a web provider - thanks!
viknet
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 3:08 pm

Re: Inserting the availability form in frontpage of website

Post by viknet »

sorry but I did not understood this part..... and answer a bit too quickly, sorry for this....

Concerning the connexion between my local computer and the webprovider I just setup a dyndns accaount for the computer at the hotel so it is now available at "http://something.dyndns.com" on this website there is php-residence (not availbale remotely but only from 192.168.1.1) and the 3 script (caladar, rates, booking) on another directory available for the "internet"

this way my ifram point to http://something.dyndns.com and the website is hosted at http://www.somehotel.com


Hope you understood the idea, it is not as good as having an hosted solution, but i needed to have access to php-residence even if the network is down (wich is quite common where the hotel is)
kyomar
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 5:04 am

Re: Inserting the availability form in frontpage of website

Post by kyomar »

Don't worry about answering too quickly - I was happy somebody answered. And thanks for the well described process of setting up php-residence on a local computer. I think I will use the hosted solution and just update the database daily locally in case I can't connect to the Internet (which here in Japan rarely happens anyway).
marco
Posts: 1332
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 6:00 pm
Location: Roma, Italia

Re: Inserting the availability form in frontpage of website

Post by marco »

What I was suggesting was copying the html code (no need to know php) of the form, you can do it using "view source code" in your browser (firefox has this option, not sure about IE) when viewing the created template. Then you can paste that code in another page changing only the "action" attribute in the "form" tag, so that it points to the complete URL of the created template. The downside of this method is that you'll have to paste again the code when you want to update the dates or other parts of the form.

To have a local copy you can use the "subordination" in the interconnections section, you can also automate the update with a cron script.

Regards,
Marco
Problems installing, configuring, upgrading?
Try the easiest way to use HotelDruid:
https://www.digitaldruid.net/hosted/index.php
Post Reply